Sunday, March 2, 2014

Review: Uninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie Jordan

UninvitedTitle: Uninvited (Uninvited #1)
Author: Sophie Jordan
Published: Jan 28, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: Ebook; 384pg
Source: Edelweiss
ISBN: 0062233653

Synopsis:

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.


Uninvited follows the story of Davina Hamilton, or Davy. Davy has a great life with a hot boyfriend, a great best friend and she is also a musical prodigy getting ready to go to Julliard. Then one day Davy and her family are told she is a carrier of Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS) otherwise known as the Kill Gene. The government has decided that anyone that has DNA testing positive for HTS be segregated from the "normal" population. If any sort of violent act is committed, the carrier is then tattooed on their neck for all to see. Davy finds this out the hard way.

I found it very interesting how people treated Davy differently after finding out she had been diagnosed with HTS. All her friends and even her own parents acted totally different towards her, thinking she could "snap" at any moment. I really liked the character of Davy's brother because he was one of the only ones to support her the whole way through this mess. After being marked a carrier, Davy is transferred to "The Cage," an alternative classroom for carriers. This is where she meets Sean O'Rourke, a character I imagined as Channing Tatum throughout the whole book for some weird reason. Anyways, an unlikely friendship develops between Sean and Davy, even though Davy is terrified of him at first. I really wish I could have learned more about Sean, but that would detract from his mystery.

This plot was fast paced and kept my attention. I couldn't wait to pick up this novel where I had to leave off. It was a very interesting concept about the kill gene. I could totally see this happening in the future and that's a little scary!

Overall, a fantastic read with a highly charged story!

5 stars to Uninvited!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...